Why I’m glad I took a break from Medium

Jess Morrison
3 min readFeb 4, 2023

A lot has changed since I returned to Medium.

I gave it a shot back in 2021, but I lost motivation very quickly. I didn’t understand why I was writing, what I was writing and who I was writing for. Now, I’m not the biggest believer in niches because they’re restrictive, but I didn’t really know who I was as a writer. Thus, I didn’t want to waste my time writing articles with little to no meaning. I knew I had to take a step back and return when I knew it was time to.

Fast forward two years, and I decided to pick it back up. Since then I have progressed in Uni, have been writing more than I have ever been before and ultimately found myself as a writer.

It’s easy being surrounded by what-ifs. I tell myself, if I carried on writing for two years, then I would have had a higher following by now and maybe see additional income that doesn’t equate to chocolate bars and piggy bank change. But would I be where I am now? Would I have the same thoughts, would I be burnt out by it due to a lack of creativity? It’s easy to question these things.

I’ve discovered a strategy that works for me.

--

--

Jess Morrison

Greetings! I am Jess… A reviewer, writer and fellow coffee-addict hermit.